In determiNATION songs three native artists use voice, rhythms, samples and guitar riffs to cut through big 'P' politics to reveal a vibrant native music scene while exposing the realities and struggles in their communities. As resistance grows across Indian country, this film about music, art and politics pulls aboriginal stories from the back pages and puts them squarely at the front of the stage.

Directed by Michelle Smith and Paul Rickard, determiNATION songs interweaves the stories of three talented native singer/songwriters - Samian, Cheri Maracle and CerAmony - through the artists' creative process, inspiration, commitment and involvement with the resistance movements in their communities.

A rising star on the Quebec music scene, hip hop artist Samian raps in Algonquin about his personal struggles growing up, giving voice to a generation of dispossessed youth and obliging Quebecers to confront their historical relationship with First Nations.

Cheri Maracle, nominated for best female artist at the 2008 Aboriginal Music Awards, recently returned to her community of Six Nations. She sings about life on the rez and the struggle over unceded Mohawk land. She expresses what life is like for First Nations women, and pays homage to the thousands of missing and murdered Aboriginal women in Canada.

Cree rockers Pakesso Mukash and Mathew Iserhoff, members of CerAmony, use Pak's guitar and Mat's powerful vocal style to voice the concerns of their people disenchanted with the destruction and sell off of Cree land to Hydro Quebec and big industry.

Growing up, many young Aboriginal artists experienced a loss of traditional culture and language. Music became a vehicle to reclaim native language and aspects of traditional culture that have been slowly eroding over centuries of colonial policy.

In the process, their work becomes a powerful source of strength, cultural renewal and political awareness for members of their community, particularly the youth, be it on or off reserve, in the city or in isolated settlements. For the broader public, these artists move people to dance, cry, think and act, all the while becoming more aware of the concerns facing First Nations peoples today while challenging their perceptions of what it means to be Native.

Chants de la détermiNATION met en scène trois artistes dont les voix, les rythmes, les échantillonnages et les accords de guitare révèlent l'effervescence de la scène musicale autochtone d'aujourd'hui tout en exposant les réalités et combats de leurs communautés. Au moment où la résistance s'accentue sur les territoires autochtones, cette oeuvre sur la musique, l'art et la politique ramène à l'avant-scène les luttes des Premières Nations laissées trop souvent dans l'ombre.

Réalisé par Michelle Smith et Paul Rickard, ce long métrage documentaire présente trois auteurs compositeurs autochtones talentueux, Samian, Cheri Maracle et CerAmony, à travers leur processus créatif, leurs sources d'inspiration, et leur engagement dans les mouvements de résistance de leurs communautés respectives.

Étoile montante sur la scène musicale québécoise, l'artiste hip-hop Samian rappe en algonquin à-propos de ses propres démons comme jeune grandissant sur la réserve. Il donne ainsi la parole à toute une génération de jeunes dépossédée et oblige le Québec à affronter son rapport historique avec les Premières Nations .

Sélectionnée en 2008 pour le prix de la meilleure interprète féminine au gala de la musique autochtone, Cheri Maracle est récemment retournée vivre dans sa communauté natale de Six Nations. Ses chansons traitent de la vie sur la réserve et des luttes autour des territoires Mohawks non-cédés. Elle témoigne également de la vie des femmes autochtones et rend hommage aux milliers d'entre elles, disparues et assassinées.

Les rockers cri Pakesso Mukash et Mathew Iserhoff, membres du groupe CerAmony, se servent de la guitare de Pak et de la voix puissante de Mat pour exprimer la déception du peuple cri devant la destruction des territoires cris, bradés à Hydro Québec et aux grandes industries.

Bon nombre de jeunes artistes autochtones ont grandi en perdant leur langue et leur culture traditionnelle. La musique est devenue un véhicule pour se réapproprier la langue maternelle et des aspects de la culture traditionnelle qui s'étaient érodés sous la pression des siècles de politique coloniale.

Ainsi, l'oeuvre de ces artistes devient une importante source de force, de renouvellement culturel et de conscience politique pour les membres des communautés autochtones, plus particulièrement les jeunes, qu'ils vivent sur les réserves ou hors-réserve, en ville ou dans des régions éloignées. Pour le grand public, ces artistes le font danser, pleurer, réfléchir et agir, tout en le sensibilisant aux préoccupations actuelles des Premières Nations et en remettant en question sa perception des autochtones.